Energise Me Awards 2018 Shortlist Announced

Shortlisted nominees text
27th February 2018
Written by
Energise Me

If you’ve been wondering if your nominee made the shortlist for the Energise Me Awards 2018 then the waiting is over. After much reading and some very tough decisions, we can now announce the shortlist for this year’s awards.

The Energise Me Awards celebrates sport and physical activity across Hampshire and the Isle of Wight. It’s our way of shining a spotlight on the amazing people who are leading the way to a happier, healthier and more active community.

This year, we received over 270 nominations across 13 categories. Every single one was worthy of recognition.

To every nominee… congratulations! You are all heroes. Every heartfelt nomination we received showed what a difference you are making to people’s lives.

The final shortlist

Junior Sports Person sponsored by Halo Conferences & Events

Annie Boby – Judo, Eastleigh

Zachary Lacey – Swimming, Isle of Wight

Serena Vincent – Shot Put, Eastleigh


Senior Sports Person sponsored by Media Pack

Harry Ellis – Golf, Eastleigh

Kimberley Murray – Skeleton, Isle of Wight

Owen Richardson – Athletics, Basingstoke


Outstanding Achievement sponsored by Saints Foundation

Jon Flynn – Running, Southampton

Shadi Ganjavian-Connor – Mountaineering, Eastleigh

Keith Diaper – Triathlon, Eastleigh


Achievement in the Face of Adversity

Matthew Davis – Diving, Isle of Wight

Chris Norkett – Running, East Hampshire

Zoe Perkins – Trampolining, East Hampshire

Mark Ridley – Football, Southampton


Making a Difference sponsored by Irwin Mitchell

Eastleigh Boccia Club – Boccia, Eastleigh

Mum and Baby Programme – Group Exercise, Eastleigh

Saints Foundation Pan Disability League – Football, Southampton


School of the Year sponsored by Create Development

Valentine Primary School – Southampton

Newchurch Primary School – Isle of Wight

Bishop Challoner School – Basingstoke


Active Workplace

Aviva – Eastleigh


Team of the Year sponsored by Aspire Defence Services Ltd

Bramshaw Golf Club – Golf, New Forest

Stephanie Ricketts and Toula Raftapoulou – Gymnastics, Eastleigh

Winchester Hockey Club Under 14 Boys – Hockey, Winchester


Club of the Year sponsored by Serious Sport

Basingstoke and Mid Hants Athletics Club – Athletics, Basingstoke

Jelly Netball – Netball, Portsmouth

South Hants Volleyball Club – Volleyball, East Hampshire/Havant


Volunteer of the Year sponsored by Hillcrest Structural Ltd

Tom Jackson – Cricket, Basingstoke

Lily Moore – Football, Havant

Judy Yoxall – Netball, Portsmouth


Coach of the Year sponsored by Energise Coaches

Lindsey Andrews – Karate and Kung Fu, Basingstoke

John Cattle – Skateboarding, Isle of Wight

Richard Osborne – Sitting Volleyball, East Hampshire

Aaron Wickes – Football, Eastleigh


Official of the Year sponsored by Energise Coaches

Kathryn Carver – Football, Eastleigh

Liz Flitcroft – Athletics, Basingstoke

David Wheeler – Golf, New Forest


Service to Sport sponsored by River Park Leisure Centre

Liz Bell – Swimming, Isle of Wight

John Robinson – Rugby Union, Winchester

Reg Wilkinson – Tennis, Eastleigh

Energise Me Award Sponsor logos


Subscribe to our newsletter
Our Partners