Energise Me Award Winners Unveiled

31st March 2017
Written by
Energise Me

The winners of the brand new 2017 Energise Me Awards, proudly supported by Irwin Mitchell were revealed on Thursday evening at the Southampton Football Club.

The Energise Me Awards, is the only county-wide event to publicly reward and recognise the commitment, performance and excellence across all sports and physical activity.  For the sixth consecutive year Kris Temple from BBC South Today presented the evening, with special guest; BBC Sports Personality of the Year Helen Rollason Award 2016 winner, Ben Smith giving a moving and inspiring speech. 401 Challenege 

The room was buzzing with excitement and anticipation as each of the 11 awards, and the nominees (33 in total) shortlisted were called up for the winner to be announced. A tough challenge for the judges from over 220 nominations this year, a mix of athletes, coaches, officials, volunteers, teams and clubs.

An inspiring selection of people from across Hampshire and the Isle of Wight were shortlisted for the 11 award categories but unfortunately there could only be one winner for each award:

Club of the Year (sponsored by Serious Sport) – Basingstoke Hockey Club, Hockey, Basingstoke & Deane

Coach of the Year (sponsored by Energise Coaches) – Doug Sheppard, Ice Hockey, Basingstoke & Deane

Volunteer of the Year (sponsored by Hillcrest Structural Ltd.) – Ann Stanhope, Running Winchester

Junior Sportsperson (sponsored by Halo Conferences & Events) – Alice Tai, Para Swimming, New Forest

Senior Sportsperson (sponsored by Media Pack) – Georgina Hermitage, Para Athletics, East Hampshire

Official of the Year (sponsored by Energise Coaches) – Anne Flitcroft, Athletics, Basingstoke

Outstanding Achievement (sponsored by Saints Foundation) – Scott Dawson, Open Water Swimming, Southampton

Energise Me: Making a Difference (sponsored by Satellite Clubs) – Back to Netball/Walking South East Hampshire Delivery Team, Netball, South East Hampshire

Team of the Year – Aldershot Ski Race Club (junior team) – Ski racing (dry slopes), Rushmoor

Active Workplace (sponsored by RS Health & Fitness) – New Forest District Council, New Forest

Service to Sport (sponsored by River Park Leisure Centre) – Derik Books, Football, Eastleigh


Junior Sportsperson of the year Winner – Alice Tai (Paralympian)

Alice Tai not there so represented by her previous coach Zoe Baker – Bournemouth Collegiate School

“ Very proud of being recognised for all the hard work she puts in. She is quite shy and she would Be very humble if she was here tonight. She has had a challenging journey over the last 6 months, going from not wanting to get in the pool to medalling at Rio.”


Outstanding Achievement Winner – Scott Dawson;

‘Very overwhelmed as I didn’t expect the award. A lot of people who saw my event were surprised how little recognition for the swim around the Isle of Wight non-stop for charity, so this is amazing. My dad told me I couldn’t do this so I did! And now onto the next challenge!’

Having hosted the Awards evening for a number of years, now an independent charity, Energise Me were excited to have so many organisations supporting and involved in this year’s awards. Our sponsors were Irwin Mitchell, Saints Foundation, Energise Coaches, Places for People (River Park Leisure centre), Hillcrest Structural Ltd, Serious Sport, RS Health & Fitness, Halo Conference and Events and Media Pack. We couldn’t do half of what we do without the support of local organisations and we’d like to thank them for helping us to put on this inspiring evening.

For more information
Vicky Cullimore
Project Officer - Marketing
Call 01962 676379
Subscribe to our newsletter
Our Partners